The Masters Tournament

The Masters Tournament

This is a major tournament around the world and it usually takes place annually. There are four major golf tournaments and The Masters is among them. The professional golf tournament usually takes place for a whole week specifically the first week of April. The Masters has one unique thing that makes it stand out: it is held at the same venue every year. The venue is the Augusta National Golf Club. The Augusta National Golf Club is privately owned and is situated at Augusta, Georgia.

Classic Competition

The tournament was established on 22nd March 1934. The 85-year-old tournament has recorded a total of 83 editions. The organizer of the event is Augusta National Golf Club. Because it is a word-class tournament, there is a lot of prestige that comes with winning it and a high cash prize of $11.5 million.

Some professional participants take part in the masters. Due to the presence of top-class players, the level of competition is usually very high. The Masters has a great history. In the 85 years it has been there, several records have been set. The tournament was founded by Clifford Roberts and Bobby Jones. The architect of the course was Allister Mackenzie. When it started in 1934, it was a prize event.

Just like any other event, the masters has its traditions. One of the Masters’ traditions is awarding of the green jacket to the champion. The jacket remains the winner’s property though he must return it after one year of winning. It is kept in a special cloakroom. If the same winner wins the masters multiple times, he is awarded the same green jacket.

There is usually a champions dinner held every year on Tuesday evening before the first round takes place on Thursday. The dinner is meant to honor the previous champions of the masters. It first took place in 1952 and was hosted by Ben Hogan. The host is usually the defending champion and he is responsible for choosing the menu.

Some of the great winners of the tournament since its inauguration are Nicklaus who has 6 titles, Eldrick Tont Woods alias Tiger Woods with 5 titles, Palmer with four and Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Gary Player, Nick Faldo have 3 titles each. In 1961, there was a first non-American winner who was from South Africa. Seve Ballesteros from Spain was the second non-American to win it in 1980 and 1983. The winners’ name is inscribed on a silver trophy.